Home || The Author || Foreword || Contents

[ Macedonia by Nicolas  Martis]

Document No 8

[ Image ] [ Image ] [ Image ]

The Romans divided Macedonia in four provinces which were called MERIDES. The coins shown are of the first one. On the two faces appear certain traditional Macedonian subjects, such as Heracles' club and the Macedonian shield. In these coins as well as in other thousands of finds appear not only the language of the Macedonians (Greek), but also their descent (Heracles). Athens Numismatic Museum. (From Macedonia, 4,000 Years of Greek History and Culture, p. 194).

[ Back ] [ Next ]

[ Imagemap ]