The seaside settlement of Agios Stefanos lies south-west of Kos town. Its boast is the early double Christian basilica church of the same name, which was discovered in 1932 by the Italian archaeologist Lorentzi. Each one of its two churches is decorated with magnificent mosaics.
In front of the small settlement, there is the islet of Kastri with the monastery of Agios Andonios. At the seaside road of Agios Stefanos, there are picturesque seashores, boarding houses, hotels and beaches ideal for sea sports.
Andimahia village lies 23 km southwest from the town of Kos. It has about 2,000 inhabitants which live in the settlements of Agioi Apostoloi, Panagia, and Agia Triada. They are engaged in the cultivation of grain, tobacco, and sesame and also in stock-breeding and the tourist trade. Andimahia is famous for its organ players, singers, dancers, and lyric writers.
In the town, one can still see traditional buildings, picturesque windmills, and the quaint churches of Agios Georgios, Agia Marina, and Agios Georgios Makris. It is also worth visiting the Venetian fortress within which the church of Agia Paraskevi has been
The picturesque settlement of Kefalos is set 43 km southwest of the island's capital. Its quaint houses are perched on the hillside at the far end of a natural bay with tiny islets. Before 412-413 BC, it was the site of the island's capital, "Astipalaia". Unfortunately, most of the area was destroyed by earthquakes. Only ruins of the harbour, the Asklepeio, and the Hellenistic theater in the site "Palatia" still stand.
From Kefalos, one can visit the churches of Panagia Palatiani and Panagia Ziniotissa, the cave Aspri Petra, the monastery of Agios Ioannis and the remains of the basilica of Agios Stephanos at Kambos.
Kos town has been the island's ca-pital and harbour since 366 BC. The present town was built with antiseismic planning by the Italians after the catastrophic earthquake of 1933. It has a population of 12,500 inhabitants. It is a very pretty town with spacious streets and picturesque houses with well kept gardens. It is called by some, "Town of the Bicycles", since the bicycle is the main means of transportation. There are specially designed roads for bicycles.
Inside and outside of the town, the-re is a plethora of places one can visit. Among theme are the ruins of the ancient city on the waterfront, the imposing Castle of the Knights at the entrance of the city, the Asklepeio, which is the island's most significant
monument, the famous plane tree of Hippocrates, the Mosque of Gazi Hasan, and the Archaeological Museum. Of particular note is the beautiful church of Agios Ioan-nis, nestled on an idyllic spot of plane trees. One should also visit the churches of Agia Aikaterini, Agios Panteleimon, the Catholic church of Kos and the one of Agios Andonios with its notable frescoes.
The town has a very good market place, restaurants, modern hotels, and recreation centres. It provides all the necessary comforts to tourists.
The picturesque village of Pili, is situated in the centre of the island, 300 m. up mount Dikaios, is 15 km from the city. In 1830, the locals abandoned the old village of Pili after a plague epidemic and settled down at the current village. The beautiful square of Pili is decorated with a fountain. Most of the houses are traditionally built with stone.
In the centre of the village, visitors can admire the churches of Profitis Elias and Analipsi. The Monastery of the Virgin Mary with its beautiful frescoes, built by St Christodoulos is also located here.
The lovely seaside settlement of Ti-gaki belongs to the community of Asfendiou, which is 6.5 km away. It has had a growth in tourism. During the summer months, it is literally swarming with holiday-makers. One can find modern hotels here, rooms to let, restaurants, tavernas, travel agencies, bars, cafeterias, and shops. It also has an excellent beach with water-sport facilities. On the location of Voukolia, on its outskirts, stand traces of the significant church of Agios Georgios.
The lovely tiny settlement of Zia lies on the hillsides of mount Dikaio among verdant land with springs and lush vegetation. From here, one can view over the entire island, as well as the beautiful neighbouring islands of Kalymnos, Tilos, Samos, Patmos, Leros, and Astipalaia. On the southern part of Zia stands the chapel of the Presentation of the Virgin inside which water has sprung. On its feast day, 21 November, it is flooded with pilgrims from nearby areas.
From Zia, one can visit the chapel which has been preserved from the "Monastery of Spondon" (Libations) founded by St Christodoulos and dedicated to the Virgin. At a small distance, on mount Dikaio, stands the monastery of Saviour Christ or
Righteous Christ, built in 1079 by the monk Skinouris.