Nissiros

BACK ISLAND 's MAP INFOXENIOS E-MAIL

Wild beauty, intense colours, black rocks, gleaming white houses, with colourful doors and windows, along with a volcano that sways between been dormant, but not completely inactive, are some of the contradictions that form the welcoming committee as a visitor approaches Nissiros. The island was subject to occupation from Venetians, Turks and Italians and was re-united with Greece in 1948. Testament to its past stands the castle of the Knights of the Order of St. John over Mandraki, the island's port. And visitors should not miss a visit to the volcano, a main tourist attraction.


GETTING THERE

By Boat

IDENTITY

The People & the Place / Historic Facts / Tradition / Sightseeing

USEFUL INFORMATION

Taxis & Buses / Food & Drink / Shopping

USEFUL NUMBERS & ADDRESSES

Police Authorities / Medical Care / Telephone Services & Codes / Postal Services & Codes / Municipalities / Other (Customs, Port Police)

RECREATION

Beaches / Excursions / Sports / Night Life / Events

TOWNS

Emborios / Mandraki / Nikia / Pali

HOTELS TRAVEL AGENTS


AREIANET HOME TOURGUIDE G.N.T.O.  AREIA


http://www.areianet.gr/infoxenios/