IONIAN ISLANDS   Strung along the west coast of Greece, the Ionian Islands (or Eptanissa) consist of seven main islands: Corfu (Kerkira), Paxi-Antipaxi, Kefalonia, Zakynthos, Ithaki, Lefkada and Kythera.

   It is the heavy rainfall that makes the Ionians among the greenest of Greek island chains. Apart from tourism, olive groves and vineyards still play a role in the economy.

   The tourist resorts are crowded throughout the high season, but the richly varied countryside and abundant beaches draw large numbers of indepedent travellers at all times of year, with the spring being a particular favourite for the lush greenery and wildflowers.

 The Areianet Server  The Tourguide - Travel Guide CD series  The GNTO info Pages  AREIA - The Company