Browse through our Interesting Nodes on Science in Greece A)? GHT="50">
Compact version
Today's Suggestion
Read The "Macedonian Question" (by Maria Nystazopoulou-Pelekidou)
HomeAbout HR-NetNewsWeb SitesDocumentsOnline HelpUsage InformationContact us
Saturday, 18 January 2020
  Latest News (All)
     From Greece
     From Cyprus
     From Europe
     From Balkans
     From Turkey
     From USA
  World Press
  News Archives
Web Sites
  Interesting Nodes
  Special Topics
  Treaties, Conventions
  U.S. Agencies
  Cyprus Problem
  Personal NewsPaper
  Greek Fonts

Cyprus News Agency: News in English, 11-05-23

Cyprus News Agency: News in English Directory - Previous Article - Next Article

From: The Cyprus News Agency at <>




    President of the Republic of Cyprus Demetris Christofias departs Monday for Australia to pay an official visit from 25-30 May.

    Accompanied by First Lady Elsi Christofia, the Government Spokesman and government officials, President Christofias first stop will be Canberra early Wednesday where he will attend a working lunch with Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Governor General of Australia, Quentin Alice Louise Bryce.

    President Christofias will also have a meeting with President of the Australian Senate John Hogg and the Speaker of the House of Representatives Harry Jenkins.

    The Cypriot President will visit the Australian War Memorial where he will lay a wreath and the National Museum. He will also visit the National Botanic Gardens in Canberra to take part in a tree planting ceremony.

    The following day, President Christofias and his entourage will meet the Australia Cyprus Parliamentary Group and the Greek Monument where he will lay a wreath.

    President Christofias will travel to Adelaide for a meeting with Mike Rann, South Australia`s Premier. He will also attend a lunch with Governor of South Australia Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce.

    During his stay in Adelaide, President Christofias will meet the Cypriot community of south Australia and will lay the foundation of the communitys new cultural centre.

    He will return to Melbourne for meetings with Ted Baillieu, Premier of Victoria and Minister for the Arts as well as Alex Chernov, Victoria`s Governor. The President will meet the Cypriot community of Melbourne and will give interviews to the local media.

    President Christofias will wrap up his official visit by traveling to Sydney for meetings New South Wales Governor Marie Bashir and his Eminence Archbishop Stylianos Harkianakis, Primate of the Greek Orthodox Church in Australia, as well as members of the Cypriot community.


    Based on the allocation of parliamentary seats per political party and district, the following candidates have secured seats at the House of Representatives, following Sundays elections:

    Nicosia District:

    Democratic Rally (DISY): Averof Neofytou, Stella Kyriakidou, Ionas Nicolaou, Christos Stylianides, Nicos Tornaritis, Andreas Pitsillides and Charis Georgiades.

    AKEL: Andros Kyprianou, Nicos Katsourides, Giorgos Loucaides, Aristos Damianou, Stella Demetriou-Mishaouli and Irene Charalambidou.

    Democratic Party (DIKO): Marios Garoyian, Nicolas Papadopoulos and Fytos Constantinou.

    Movement of Social Democrats EDEK: Yiannakis Omirou and Roulla Mavronicola.

    European Party: Demetris Syllouris

    Green Party: Giorgos Perdikis

    Limassol District:

    DISY: Nicos Anastasiades, Efthimios Diplaros, Andreas Michaelides and Andreas Kyprianou.

    AKEL: Adamos Adamou, Yiannos Lamaris, Andros Kafkalias, Christos Mesis and Costas Costa.

    DIKO: Angelos Votsis and Athena Kyriakidou.

    EDEK: Nicos Nicolaides

    Famagusta District:

    DISY: Lefteris Christoforou, Kyriacos Hadjiyiannis, Sotiris Sampson and Georgios Georgiou.

    AKEL: Stavros Evagorou, Christakis Tziovanis, Skevi Koukouma-Koutra and Yiannakis Gavriel.

    DIKO: Zacharias Koulias

    EDEK: Giorgos Varnava

    European Party: Nicos Koutsou

    Larnaca District:

    DISY: Tasos Mitsopoulos, Georgios Tasou and Zacharias Zachariou.

    AKEL: Panicos Stavrianos and Georgios Georgiou.

    DIKO: Georgios Procopiou

    Paphos District:

    DISY: Costas Constantinou AKEL: Andreas Fakontis DIKO: Antonis Antoniou EDEK: Fidias Sarikas

    Kyrenia District:

    DISY: Marios Mavrides AKEL: Pambos Papageorgiou DIKO: Sophocles Fyttis

    Chief Returning Officer Lazaros Savides also declared on Sunday night the elected representatives of the three religious groups represented at the House of Representatives (Maronites, Armenians and Latins).

    Antonis Hadjiroussos was reelected to represent the Maronites, Vartkes Mahtesian was reelected to represent the Armenians and Benito Mantovani was also reelected to represent the Latins.


    The main opposition party, the right wing Democratic Rally (DISY), topped the polls in Sundays parliamentary elections, gaining 138,614 votes and a comfortable lead of 34.27% against the ruling left wing AKEL party, which rallied in second position with 132,163 votes and 32.67%.

    Both parties have increased their share of the vote, compared with the corresponding percentage in the 2006 parliamentary elections.

    DISYs percentage in the 2006 parliamentary elections was 30.52%, gaining 3.75% in todays poll. In the same poll in 2006, AKEL got 31.31% share of the vote, registering 1.36 in todays poll.

    The biggest upset of the night was the number of abstentions, reaching 113,282 or 21.32%, an unprecedented development in parliamentary elections.

    A total of 418,181 ballots were counted, 404,518 were valid, 8,693 invalid and 4,970 were blank.

    The government coalition partner, the Democratic Party (DIKO), from 17.98% share of the vote in 2006 lost a 2.22%, reaching 15.77% or 63,783 votes while EDEK Movement of Social Democrats maintained its percentages with 36,119 votes or 8.93% a slight drop of 0.03%.

    The European Party secured (EVROKO) 15,712 votes or 3.88%, reducing the percentage it achieved in the 2006 elections by -1.90%.

    The Green Party garnered 8,954 votes, increasing its share of the vote from 1.96% in the 2006 poll to 2.21%.

    The newly founded National Peoples Front (ELAM) secured 4,350 votes or 1.08% while the Office of Citizen Rights (LASOK) rallied behind with 2,668 votes and a 0.66% percent, going up by 0.42%.

    The Independent Citizens Movement Balance (ZYGOS) got 858 votes (0.21%), while the Cypriot Progressive Cooperation (KY.PRO.S) 709 0.18%. Independent candidates Kyriakos (Kostas) Outopos 235 0.06%, Andreas Efstratiou 213 (0.05%), Konstantinos Neofytos 45 (0.01%) Stavrou Pampos. 39 0.01%, Pierides Antonis. 36 0.01% and Stavrou Loukas 20 0.00%.

    Cyprus News Agency: News in English Directory - Previous Article - Next Article
    Back to Top
    Copyright 1995-2016 HR-Net (Hellenic Resources Network). An HRI Project.
    All Rights Reserved.

    HTML by the HR-Net Group / Hellenic Resources Institute, Inc.
    cna2html v2.01 run on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 9:39:16 UTC